Top Ten Good News Headlines

Each morning I log into various news sources on line and each morning, there is nothing, but the same old, same old bad news and my heart sinks. I know we are wired by evolution to focus on bad news (lion lurking at water hole) more than good news (there are tasty berries over there by the lion), but maybe we are taking in too far. So I thought that for Fourth of July in the US (and in UK where they celebrate not having America’s problems to worry about), I would post my preferred headlines, my dreamed up headlines of good news for a change, a sort of good news version of ‘The Onion’.

  1. Carbon Dioxide Falls Below 350 Parts Per Million Globally
  2. US Budget Surplus Posted for Full Year
  3. Tea Party Disbands Admitting Government is Good for Some Things
  4. Liberals Embrace Manufacturing and Wealth Creation as Priorities
  5. China Holds First Free Democratic Elections Nationwide
  6. West Bank Silicon Valley: First Billion Dollar Israeli/Palestinian Business Venture Achieves Profitability
  7. Aung San Suu Kyi Elected President of Free Myanmar/Burma
  8. Nuclear Fusion: First Full Gigawatt of Electricity Generated at Economic Cost
  9. Bill Gates Foundation Reports End of the Top Five Infectious Diseases in the Tropics
  10. World Population Stabilizes at 8 Billion
Now I guess all I want is for the Twitter Generation to take up these causes globally and make them come to reality. Please. 🙂
President of Myanmar/Burma:

Footnote: Independent creation. One of my friends just told me that someone else had come up with this idea and created a fake New York Times full of good news stories: see http://gothamist.com/2008/11/12/fake_new_york_times_hits_readers.php#photo-2

About creativeconflictwisdom

I spent 32 years in a Fortune Five company working on conflict: organizational, labor relations and senior management. I have consulted in a dozen different business sectors and the US Military. I work with a local environmental non profit. I have written a book on the neuroscience of conflict, and its implications for conflict handling called Creative Conflict Wisdom (forthcoming).
This entry was posted in Conflict Humor, Conflict Processes, Ways to handle conflict and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

