Economic Pyramid

An interesting poster from 1911 from the US Industrial Workers of the World or ‘Wobblies’, which seems strangely topical, along with the FDR quote, though, as usual, I post to provoke thought, not orthodoxy.

File:Anti-capitalism color.jpg

‘These unhappy times call for the building of plans that rest upon the forgotten, the unorganized but the indispensable units of economic power…that build from the bottom up and not from the top down, that put their faith once more in the forgotten man at the bottom of the economic pyramid.’ US President Franklin D Roosevelt 1932

About creativeconflictwisdom

I spent 32 years in a Fortune Five company working on conflict: organizational, labor relations and senior management. I have consulted in a dozen different business sectors and the US Military. I work with a local environmental non profit. I have written a book on the neuroscience of conflict, and its implications for conflict handling called Creative Conflict Wisdom (forthcoming).
This entry was posted in Economic Conflict, US Political Conflict and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Economic Pyramid

  1. Fantastic poster and quote.

    • Thanks. I wish I could find an artist who could modernize this one, with some recognizable modern characters, like Rupert Murdoch, and Rush Limbaugh on the ‘we fool you’ level and maybe Alan Greenspan’s face on the bag of dollars at the top?

  2. Pingback: Ratio of CEO Pay to Average Worker by Country | Creativeconflictwisdom's Blog

  3. Pingback: The Blog in Russian | Creativeconflictwisdom's Blog

  4. Gandalfe says:

    Reblogged this on The Bis Key Chronicles and commented:
    Provocative indeed.

  5. TonyGee says:

    I like your Idea and yes I agree. Here is my thought on how it needs to look like….

    However I suggest in the tier of “we fool you” needs to be the media CNN, ABC, NBC, CBC, FOX NEWS and MSNBC.

    The tier of, “We Rule You” would be simply the letters “D & R” representing The Demarcates and Republicans. Putting a face to them would/could be Nancy Pelosi (on the left), George W. Bush (in the middle) and Obama (on the right).

    The top tier needs to NOW be simply the word “DEBT” in red ink with an empty bag with the $ sign laying off the side about to fall off the platform.

    Tony

    • @TonyGee. I like your suggestions. Though I do think some large corporations have to play a major role in the image. They are what makes life very tough for small businesses. Look at what Wal-Mart does to Main Street. They are actually what has corrupted both the Democratic and Republican Parties, especially Wall Street. And the latter has corrupted the economy making large businesses focus on quarter by quarter results, big stock options for the CEOs etc that are not related to real performance but spin; instead of long term investment in people and in making things. My decades in a large corporation showed me how professional competence slowly became devalued, and replaced by game playing sociopaths who cared for no one but themselves. That’s why I retired. Couldn’t stand the mediocrities. And when I did some consulting, other large corporations were the same. And this made the corporations less able to make things efficiently. Now I don’t think all corporations are bad. There are some really good ones and the one I worked for, for over 3 decades, is still relatively good morally and economically. But the oil companies, Wall Street, Agri-business and some other corporations are deeply toxic, deeply corrupting. And the merchant bank Goldman Sachs is probably the inner circle of Hell. Time both parties came to see the reality you do too. Thanks for your interesting post.

  6. TonyGee says:

    On a other front with respect to your long career in labor relations and salary compensations…I have a very serious question.

    I was just told by one of the owners (she said she has been researching for over a month but I think the research is not extensive and I might call her on it) that this year there is 27 paydays not 26 and she wants to only give me and another salary individual 26 paychecks this year leaving us 4 weeks with-out pay at the end of the year and beginning of 2014. We get paid every two weeks and apparently Tuesday this year has a extra pay week…..Have you ever had to deal with this and how was it handled….and now that it is already almost 2/3 into the year what is the corporate thought or a small business to do and how shall I deal with this?????

    I have my own thoughts on how to deal with it but was hopping to hear you professional opinion.

    I have a feeling this matter could come up for discussion today Saturday 8-10-13 I will be asking for a extension to discuss next week.

    Thanks

    TonyGee

    • @Tony. I don’t know your legal situation, as I don’t know what local or State Laws apply to you. So this is not a legal response. I have only administered people who were paid by the hour or by the month. I have never heard of people paid a fixed annual salary, which is divided up into equal two weekly increments, which are the only people I can see who would be affected by the number of pay days in the year. Are you in this category? Otherwise I would assume you are paid by the hour or by the two week salary, neither of which would be affected by the number of pay days in the year? Also there is a Federal Minimum Wage Law that is currently $7.25 per hour, and I can’t see that two weeks or four weeks without pay doesn’t violate that. Some states and cities have a higher rate to this as well. So if you can’t get legal advice on this, I would suggest at least asking why the number of pay days in the year is relevant to anything, and also how the Federal Minimum Wage affects what seems like two or four weeks with no pay per hour? Hope this helps, but I stress it is not direct legal advice as I cannot give that, or be responsible for the consequences of what I have commented. It is hard to give advice on an employer I don’t know or whose power over your situation I cannot access. I would hate to cause you a problem with a theoretical answer. Best in this.

Leave a Reply

