Airline Food, Envy and Positional Thinking

OK here’s the problem. Everyone agrees airline food sucks. Everyone outside First Class grimaces when it arrives, however cheery the cabin crew. And yes Asian Vegetarian can sometimes be just about OK, if you desperate. So what do I do? Well I take my own food. I buy tasty treats from local deli, yesterday it was French country pate, Camembert cheese, two spicy samosas, some Prosciutto ham, fruit, and a cherry tart. And what does that get me?

Well, I am a strict egalitarian, when I can be. I  hate being the cause of envy. I have no wish to have more than the next person. I don’t do positional. And I don’t carry enough food to feed the plane, and my capacity for miracles is severely restricted in winter. So what this gets me is envy. So can I ask you all a favor, just in case you are sitting near me on a future plan ride?

Can you please take good food on your next plane ride! Thank you!

(Disclaimer: actual pate, cherry tart and Samosas may vary and this is for purposes of illustration only)

About creativeconflictwisdom

I spent 32 years in a Fortune Five company working on conflict: organizational, labor relations and senior management. I have consulted in a dozen different business sectors and the US Military. I work with a local environmental non profit. I have written a book on the neuroscience of conflict, and its implications for conflict handling called Creative Conflict Wisdom (forthcoming).
This entry was posted in Conflict Humor, Conflict Processes, Uncategorized, Ways to handle conflict and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

