Canadian Peacekeepers’ Memorial Ottawa

I notice a lot of interest in this blog from Canada. So I am re-posting one of my first ever blogs, on Canadian peace keeping:

OK I confess: I have a soft spot for Canada and Canadians: I love Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa and Vancouver! But they are also the world’s quiet ‘get on with it without much fuss’ peacekeepers: since 1948 they have sent over 125,000 Canadians overseas on peace keeping missions  in the Golan Heights, East Timor, Kosovo, Cyprus, Bosnia, Sierra Leone and many other places. I have see plenty of war memorials, but only one to peace keepers: in Ottawa:

Cdn Peacekeeping Monument

Peace keeping does not come free: over 2468 UN and other peace keepers from 100 countries have been killed on duty in the same period. So this Memorial Day in the USA, let us give some thought to all peace keepers, especially Canadians, my neighbors 50 miles east of here. And as you will see on this blog, trying to mediate in conflict can be costly: you may even have both sides turn on you. And if I am to push the envelope a bit in helping improve your conflict handling, I may at some stage cut across some of your beliefs. I apologize in advance: learning, but no offence/offense, intended!

About creativeconflictwisdom

I spent 32 years in a Fortune Five company working on conflict: organizational, labor relations and senior management. I have consulted in a dozen different business sectors and the US Military. I work with a local environmental non profit. I have written a book on the neuroscience of conflict, and its implications for conflict handling called Creative Conflict Wisdom (forthcoming).
This entry was posted in Conflict History, Conflict Processes, Uncategorized, Ways to handle conflict and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

