What Must We Do in Scoundrel Times?

For some reason the Mitt Romney campaigns reminds me of the tension between two pieces of advice which I can quite get out of my head:

‘In scoundrel times good men cultivate their gardens’ 

Which I think is from the Roman Stoics but cannot find an attribution

And

‘All that is required for evil to prevail is that good men do nothing’

Edmund Burke 1729-1797) conservative

Romney comes close to epitomizing Hannah Arendt’s the banality of evil. It is not that I think he intends evil like Shakespeare’s Iago. It is just that a boatload of evil will be the consequence of his winning the election because he represents a party delusional in its failure to grasp economic, scientific or any other sort of reality and determined to act on its delusions.

Yet I so want to cultivate my garden….

About creativeconflictwisdom

I spent 32 years in a Fortune Five company working on conflict: organizational, labor relations and senior management. I have consulted in a dozen different business sectors and the US Military. I work with a local environmental non profit. I have written a book on the neuroscience of conflict, and its implications for conflict handling called Creative Conflict Wisdom (forthcoming).
This entry was posted in Conflict Humor, Conflict Processes, US Political Conflict and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

