New Word: Sociopro

I was debating on line how far our business corporations have been taken over by sociopaths: those suffering from a personality disorder characterized by asocial or anti-social behavior.

I was searching for a word for the sort of people I would like to take over the running of our corporations. I came up with the word sociopro, meaning someone whose personality inclines them to run a business in a pro-social way, the opposite of anti-social, someone inclined to transcend narcissistic self-aggrandization and run their organizations for the benefit of the wider world, employees, customers as well as shareholders. And for the long term not just the short term. It also conjures up the idea that such people are pros, professionals with a skill and sense of craft in what they do.

I dedicate this new word to my friend Chrissie who first introduced me to the importance of living our lives in pro-social ways, long ago and far away, back in the day…Thanks Chrissie.

About creativeconflictwisdom

I spent 32 years in a Fortune Five company working on conflict: organizational, labor relations and senior management. I have consulted in a dozen different business sectors and the US Military. I work with a local environmental non profit. I have written a book on the neuroscience of conflict, and its implications for conflict handling called Creative Conflict Wisdom (forthcoming).
This entry was posted in Philosophy of Conflict and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Word: Sociopro

  1. It’s interesting. Living your life in a way that conflicts with the directions other take, particularly those which are consistent a dominant mindset. Thoughtful, intelligent, but undaunted by by others. Even when those others think they are taking their own path. An idealism I can appreciate.

Leave a Reply

