The Four Types of “Christianity”

Well I was thinking about Christianity, in the light of what I read in on line postings. There are hundreds if not thousands of different “Christian” sects, but I figure roughly these days they cluster as follows:

1) Leviticanistas, whose main focus is punitive, ideally eternal torture punitive, with majors in homophobia and abomination is their main gig, though they often throw racism in for good measure, Mark of Cain and all that.
2) Rapturistas, whose main focus is that most of us out there are doomed to eternal torture and they quite like that and they are into Revelations, and can’t wait for the post-Rapture torturing of the rest of us to start. I guess some of these folk would be guards in any theocracy’s concentration camps? They may have faith but their hope is pretty nasty and not any sign of love beyond self love.
3) Paulistas, quite a bit into misogyny and a dash of homophobia, but tempered by their faith, hope and love, so a bit more balanced and on the road to Damascus.
4) Sermon on the Mountistas: Golden Rule is central (as it is with most major world religions) “do unto others as you would have them do unto you” (Matt. 7:12) and has Paulistas faith, hope and takes the love bit to a new charitable level of course. I think the current Pope is working to move the Paulistas more into Mountitas and that is a good thing to me. Oh and many of these are into rich people camel-eye-of-needle perspectives which seem healthy to me. And this strand of Christianity morally aligns with most major religions on the centrality of the Golden Rule: Judaism, Islam, Buddhist, Hinduism, Confuscianism, Taoism etc.

Now to me the first two are not actually Christian, because they have far too much hatred and seem more like the Pharisees with a strong dash of Roman crucifixion methodology. I guess with the Paulistas there is some hope, but to me only the Mountistas are really Christian, embracing the core teachings of the Gospels. But hey I might be quite wrong, I might have missed a major cluster and I may have mischaracterised some groups and I forget to mention the centrality of the abomination of mixed fiber wearing. I think that’s a Levitican hang up?

About creativeconflictwisdom

I spent 32 years in a Fortune Five company working on conflict: organizational, labor relations and senior management. I have consulted in a dozen different business sectors and the US Military. I work with a local environmental non profit. I have written a book on the neuroscience of conflict, and its implications for conflict handling called Creative Conflict Wisdom (forthcoming).
This entry was posted in Conflict Processes, PERSONAL CONFLICT RESOLUTION: CREATIVE STRATEGIES, Philosophy of Conflict, Religious Conflict and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

