Optimist vs. Pessimist vs. Existentialist: Albert Camus (1913-1960)

I was discussing the state of the world with a friend last week, who is something of an optimist in life.

I said that I was a strong pessimist, always had been and recently it had got worse.

She said: no you are an optimist and reminded me of my labour relations days and my resilience, my keep on keeping on in the face of adversity.

I said: no I am a deep pessimist who knows for instance the history, the horrors of the Eastern Front in WW2, and sees such disastrous times coming again; and yes someone who believes in fighting hard to avoid pessimistic outcomes that I as a pessimist think overwhelming probable. Camus is my hero and his plague fighting doctor Rieux in La Peste. Existentalist

albert-camus-6

About creativeconflictwisdom

I spent 32 years in a Fortune Five company working on conflict: organizational, labor relations and senior management. I have consulted in a dozen different business sectors and the US Military. I work with a local environmental non profit. I have written a book on the neuroscience of conflict, and its implications for conflict handling called Creative Conflict Wisdom (forthcoming).
This entry was posted in Conflict History, Conflict Processes, US Political Conflict, Ways to handle conflict and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

