The Strongest Country in the World?

Hmmm maybe this insight that may or may not have come from 19th century German Chancellor Otto Von Bismarck (many of the best quotes are hard to connect to those who said them or as Albert Einstein said: “There are all these quotes on the internet of things I never said”) has some more modern relevance to another country:

‘I am firmly convinced that Spain is the strongest country of the world. Century after century trying to destroy herself and still no success’

See also: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Otto_von_Bismarck

About creativeconflictwisdom

I spent 32 years in a Fortune Five company working on conflict: organizational, labor relations and senior management. I have consulted in a dozen different business sectors and the US Military. I work with a local environmental non profit. I have written a book on the neuroscience of conflict, and its implications for conflict handling called Creative Conflict Wisdom (forthcoming).
This entry was posted in Conflict History, Conflict Humor, US Political Conflict and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Strongest Country in the World?

  1. It’s. a false quote

  2. Ruben says:

    I am Spanish and this quote is on Spanish Wikipedia, though I can’t find a source. It could be true because Bismarck knew a lot about global situation in his time and Spain had 3 Carlists wars (which were civil wars) during 19th century, but the quote probably it’s not certain. Greetings.

  3. Ruben says:

    Yeah well I think that it’s healthy to have different opinions to debate because if not we would be like sheep leaded by the farmer (excuse the expression), but sometimes its are too different and is impossible like happens with Trump and a Latin senator for example. I like your blog although, in my humble opinion, I think that you talk too much about money compared to the blog’s name. I will try to follow it because it’s interesting, but it’s a bit compact for my English (is not very good, I hope that you hadn’t realised until now hahaha).

    • Thanks and if you want to read stuff unrelated to economics there are many subject indexes on the right hand side to look at for instance personal conflict, environmental conflict, not to mention conflict art etc. Just recently I have seen a lot of economics stuff that is interesting but will try to correct the slant a bit. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a comment