Resistance to Change and Cisco’s DNA

Most of my professional life has been focused on finding ways to address resistance to change. I don’t mean doing to change to people, but engaging them in the change process to meet their own interests better (my main aim in conflict work too) and less destructively, and those of the greater entity they are part of: corporation, non-profit, political movement, country, civilization etc.

In the early 1990s, I was on the core team for one of the largest organization change processes in corporate history. It worked pretty well and earned my corporation huge profits in the next 5 years, before in 1998 someone senior’s ego screwed it up and reversed the changes and nearly bankrupted the company. Eventually, a new leader with more humility, refused to reinvent the wheel, shifted back to the previous strategy and the company began to thrive.

Around 2000, I was involved in another major project on organizational learning to keep out of the way of the reversal process. As part of this project, I visited, with a team of my colleagues, Cisco Systems in Silicon Valley, then at the height of its dot com boom success in order to benchmark what they were doing right. And let me make clear, I think they were doing a lot right. After much interesting conversation, one of our senior management hosts asked me what we were really interested in and I responded: ‘Overcoming resistance to change.’ She responded: ‘Oh that. Well change is part of our DNA here. So we don’t need any special effort on that.’

Maybe she said it a little arrogantly, but I responded. ‘Well our 100 year old company invented mass production in the early 1900s, survived the First World War, the Roaring 20s, the Depression, the Second World War, the Cold War, the Korean War, and the fall of the Berlin Wall and is still the fifth biggest company in the world. So I guess we know something about surviving change. But what makes people resist change is that past change has hurt them. So we’ll see how Cisco handles the downturn’. She seemed very surprised and responded: ‘What downturn?’ We carried on the visit and had good conversations.

(In passing, I had a similar conversation with our own Chief Economist in 1998 about our strategy for handling downturns. He told me that downturns were a thing of the past because the Fed was now so clever. He now teaches economics at a leading university.)

A year later after the dot com bust, I returned to Cisco and heard they had laid off maybe a third of their staff. My former host was not on the team greeting us. I talked to my new host about a variety of topics and then gingerly came round to the subject of resistance to change. I said: ‘We are interested in resistance to change but I know that change is part of Cisco’s DNA and you don’t have that issue.’

Oh no’, he said, ‘we actually want to talk to you about that topic, because we here all know that your company invented mass production in the early 1900s, survived the First World War, the Roaring 20s, the Depression, the Second World War, the Cold War, the Korean War, and the fall of the Berlin Wall and is still the fifth biggest company in the world. So we know you are the experts surviving tough change and we want to learn about it as we are struggling.’

As he had repeated exactly my words to his colleague a year earlier, I said: ‘Where did you get that impression?‘ ‘Oh‘ he said, and he named the person I had met on my first visit ‘made a very emotional speech at her leaving party when she was laid off that this guy from your company had foretold exactly what was happening to Cisco because his company had ‘invented mass production, survived the First World War etc……’

I don’t tell these stories to  show how clever I am, (and I value wisdom more than smarts anyway; smart people do such dumb things), so much as how unthinking, success makes us. And yes I did train as an economic historian, as well as economist, so never inhaled the mathematical model building economic fundamentalism Cool Aid. But if someone says change is part of their DNA; look out!

And just to be clear: I went back the second time just because I really liked Cisco, and if you think about it, the story I told is reflexively about their ability to learn and bounce back. They realized that change was harder than they thought, and they worked accordingly as a real ‘learning organization’. I meant no disrespect for Cisco or the excellent John Chambers who really fought hard to avoid any lay offs because he knew they might build more resistance into the DNA. And they are now I understand a very successful company.

And also to show that I guess old dogs do know some good tricks 🙂

This is Henry, getting on in age, but wiser than most of Wall Street. He smelt a rat on collateralized debt obligations from the start, growling whenever they were mentioned.

About creativeconflictwisdom

I spent 32 years in a Fortune Five company working on conflict: organizational, labor relations and senior management. I have consulted in a dozen different business sectors and the US Military. I work with a local environmental non profit. I have written a book on the neuroscience of conflict, and its implications for conflict handling called Creative Conflict Wisdom (forthcoming).
This entry was posted in Conflict Processes, Economic Conflict, Uncategorized, Ways to handle conflict. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Resistance to Change and Cisco’s DNA

  1. Victor says:

    Actually I would argue that Cisco does have a DNA that embraces change–in 2000 its market cap was briefly greater than GM–then the Dot Com bubble burst–CEO Chambers was very thoughtful in his approach and gave very generous severance packages to those laid off.
    By early 2003 Cisco was booming, hiring and acquiring other companies, it changed its business model from a product focus to a systems and solutions focus–it was a massive and very successful transformation-I was involved in making it happen.

    From an economic view, huge companies have to deal with the challenge of the Law of Large Numbers as it applies to their P/E ratio and expectations of future growth .
    Cisco has done better than most other companies in facing those challenges, it reinvented itself better than IBM did in the 80s and early 90s

    Just to propose a different view.

    “History will be kind to me”, Winston Churchill said, “for I intent to write it.”

  2. Victor for some reason my reply to you got wiped out. You are quite right about Cisco and I have amended my posting to make clear that the reason I went back there was they were a good company and no doubt remain one. The interesting point is that they did realize they needed to modify their DNA a bit and were not too arrogant to admit, even to an outsider like me. Thanks as usual for keeping balance here.

  3. I have browsed most of your posts. This post is probably where I got the most useful information for my research. Thanks for posting, maybe we can see more on this. Are you aware of any other websites on this subject
    communication training course

  4. Thanks CTC. I will give some thought to other experiences I have had on achieving organizational change and post if appropriate.

    One suggestion for some useful tools to change an organization’s culture is to measure it first. I suggest Denison Consulting’s culture measure as the best approach. See

    http://www.denisonconsulting.com/home.aspx

    It is research-based, rigorous and correlates cultural measures to bottom line profitability. I used it when I was consulting and it is very powerful if properly used. You still need change tools, but you have laser-like focus on what you are changing. And as the old OD joke says: how many change agents does it take to change a light bulb? Answer: one but the light bulb has gotta want to change.

Leave a comment