Belief

‘Here then is a trenchant clue to understanding our subject: belief marks the line at which our thinking stops, or perhaps better, the place where we confine our thinking to a carefully delineated region. Maoists or creationists or jihadists or libertarians take a severely critical view of the world, but they do not step across their created boundaries to take an equally severe view of themselves.’

‘There is no greater danger to belief than ‘false thinking’. The line must be absolutely clear.

‘The test is rudimentary: if I am a knower, I am open to correction; if I am a believer, I resist it. The one says, this is what I am thinking; I will wait for your response to see if it is the truth. The other says, this is what I think; I will wait for you to see it as the truth.’

James P Carse in ‘The Religious Case Against Belief’

About creativeconflictwisdom

I spent 32 years in a Fortune Five company working on conflict: organizational, labor relations and senior management. I have consulted in a dozen different business sectors and the US Military. I work with a local environmental non profit. I have written a book on the neuroscience of conflict, and its implications for conflict handling called Creative Conflict Wisdom (forthcoming).
This entry was posted in Conflict Humor, Conflict Processes, Philosophy of Conflict, Religious Conflict and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment